Este sitio web utiliza cookies propias y de terceros para su funcionamiento, mantener la sesión y personalizar la experiencia del usuario. Más información en nuestra política de Cookies

Meeting of Spain-U.S. Working Group on Central America

May 26, 2022
The first meeting of the Spain-U.S. Working Group on Central America was held yesterday, 25 May, chaired by the State Secretary for Ibero-America and the Caribbean, and for Spanish in the World, Juan Fernández Trigo, and the Deputy Assistant Secretary in the Bureau of Western Hemisphere Affairs, Emily Mendrala. It was also attended by representatives from the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), the Spanish Department of National Security (Spanish acronym: DSN), the Spanish Agency for International Development Cooperation (Spanish acronym: AECID) and the Ministry of Inclusion, Social Security and Migration.

The meeting confirmed that both countries share the priority of strengthening institutions, democratic governability, civil society, the fight against corruption and gender-based violence in the region. Both countries also agreed on the importance of supporting human rights advocates, journalists and those in vulnerable situations, such as indigenous people, Afro-descendant communities and the LGBTQ community.

Both parties also addressed the need to promote sustainable and inclusive development that helps generate opportunities in Central American countries.

Lastly, they studied proposals and actions to jointly address, together with the countries in the region, the challenges posed by forced displacements and unlawful migratory movements in and from Central America.

The constitution of this working group, which will meet periodically, is a clear example of the interest by Spain and the United States in collaborating on a host of global issues. This working group will continue to meet regularly to promote a sound partnership between Spain and the United States in relation to our policy on Latin America. 

Original press release from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, European Union and Cooperation