## EQUAL RIGHTS COALITION

IDAHOBIT 2025 – Diplomats for Equality in Brussels Joint Statement

Brussels, 17 May 2025

58 Head of Diplomatic Missions in Brussels support the International Day Against Homophobia, Biphobia & Transphobia on May 17, and reaffirm their commitment to defend and advance the human rights of LGBTIQ+ persons around the world.

We, the undersigned Heads of Diplomatic Missions in Brussels, come together once again to mark the International Day Against Homophobia, Biphobia, and Transphobia (IDAHOBIT) and to reaffirm our continued commitment to defending the human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex, queer and other diverse persons (LGBTIQ+) in Belgium and around the world.

This year's theme, **"The Power of Communities"**, highlights the essential role that networks of solidarity, mutual support and collective resilience play in advancing LGBTIQ+ rights. Throughout history, LGBTIQ+ communities have led the way in confronting injustice, and their strength remains critical in today's global context.

Despite important progress, LGBTIQ+ persons still face multiple and intersecting forms of discrimination, violence and legal persecution in many countries. We are especially concerned by the continued criminalisation of consensual same-sex relations, as well as by restrictions on freedom of expression, assembly, and access to inclusive healthcare, sexual, and reproductive rights. Decriminalisation is a vital step toward guaranteeing dignity, liberty and equality for all.

We urge countries to introduce, or amend legislation, policies, and practices, and remove structural barriers to protect LGBTIQ+ persons from all forms of discrimination and to protect their human rights, which are the rights of us all. Legal reform must be undertaken efficiently and be guided by international human rights law.

In this context, we reaffirm our commitment to the promotion of human rights through multilateral cooperation, international institutions and robust partnerships with civil society. The Equal Rights Coalition, established in 2016, remains a key platform for coordinating our efforts and promoting a shared vision of global equality.

In the current geopolitical context, it is imperative that we do not move backward in our collective commitments to gender equality and the full realization of human rights for all people. The progress achieved must be safeguarded and strengthened. Upholding these commitments is not only a matter of human rights but also a cornerstone of democracy, sustainable development and social justice.

Inclusive societies that respect and protect diversity are stronger, more equal, more peaceful, and more resilient. We commit to supporting all those who defend these values and to working to ensure that no one is marginalised or criminalised for their sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, or sex characteristics.

On this 17 May, we reaffirm our conviction that LGBTIQ+ rights are human rights. We stand united in our determination to build a freer, fairer and more compassionate world for all.

## The Co-Chairs:

**Atlantic Council** 

**European Union** 

H.E. Alberto Antón Cortés, Ambassador,
Embassy of Spain to the Kingdom of Belgium
H.E. Marcos Alonso Alonso, Ambassador,
Permanent Representative of Spain to the
European Union
H.E. Federico Torres Muro, Ambassador,

Permanent Representative of Spain to the North

Deputy Permanent Representative of Spain to the

H.E. Daniel Ernesto Prado Albarracín, Ambassador Embassy of Colombia to the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, Mission of Colombia to the European Union and NATO

## **SIGNATORIES** (In alphabetical order)

H.E. Oriol Escalas Nolla, Ambassador,

Austria	H.E. Jürgen Meindl, Ambassador to Belgium
Austria	H.E Thomas Oberreiter, Permanent Representative to the EU
Belgium	H.E. Peter Moors, Permanent Representative to the EU
Belgium	H.E. Ariadne Petridis, Permanent Representative to NATO
Canada	H.E. Nicholas Brousseau, Ambassador to Belgium and Luxembourg
Canada	H.E Ailish Campbell, Head of Mission to the EU
Canada	H.E. Heidi Hulan, Permanent Representative to NATO
Chile	H.E. Gloria Navarrete, Ambassador to Belgium and Luxembourg, Head of
	Mission to the EU
Costa Rica	H.E. Eliana Villalobos Cárdenas, Ambassador to Belgium and Luxembourg,
	Head of Mission to the EU
Cyprus	H.E Dr. Spyros Attas, Ambassador to Belgium and The Netherlands
Czechia	H.E. Jakub Skalník, Ambassador to Belgium
Denmark	H.E. Susanne Shine, Ambassador to Belgium, Luxembourg and Vatican State
Denmark	H.E. Kasper Høeg-Jensen, Permanent Representative to NATO
Estonia	H.E. Helen Kaljuläte, Ambassador to Belgium and Luxembourg
Finland	H.E. Jouko Leinonen, Ambassador to Belgium and Luxembourg
Finland	H.E. Jori Arvonen, Permanent Representative to the EU
Finland	H.E. Lauri Hirvonen, Deputy Permanent Representative to the EU
Finland	H.E. Juha Ottman, Representative to the Political and Security Committee of
	the EU
Finland	H.E. Piritta Asunmaa, Permanent Representative to NATO
France	H.E. Xavier Lapeyre de Cabanes, Ambassador to Belgium
France	H.E. David Cvach, Permanent Representative to NATO
Germany	H.E. Martin Kotthaus, Ambassador to Belgium
Germany	H.E. Jan Grünhage, Permanent Representative to NATO
Greece	H.E. Sofia Grammata, Ambassador to Belgium

Greece	H.E. Ioannis Vrailas, Ambassador to the EU
Iceland	H.E. Kristján Stefánsson, Ambassador to Belgium, Luxembourg, The
	Netherlands and San Marino
Iceland	H.E. Jörundur Valtýsson, Permanent Representative to NATO
Ireland	H.E. Kevin Conmy, Ambassador to Belgium
Israel	H.E. Idit Rosenzweig-Abu, Ambassador to Belgium and Luxembourg
Lithuania	H.E. Dainius Petras Kamaitis, Ambassador to the EU
Luxembourg	H.E. Jean-Louis THILL, Ambassador to Belgium
Luxembourg	H.E. Fabien Raum, Deputy Permanent Representative to the EU
Luxembourg	H.E. Nicolas Mackel, Permanent Representative to the EU
Malta	H.E. Vanni Xuereb, Ambassador to Belgium, Luxembourg and NATO
Malta	H.E. Neill Kerr, Permanent Representative to the EU
Mexico	H.E. Rogelio Granguillhome, Ambassador to Belgium, Luxembourg and Head of
	Mission to the EU
Montenegro	H.E. Ivan Leković, Ambassador to Belgium
Netherlands	H.E. Kleiweg de Zwaan, Permanent Representative to the EU
Netherlands	H.E. Thijs van der Plas, Permanent Representative to NATO
New Zealand	H.E. Simon Draper, Head of Mission to the EU and NATO
New Zealand	H.E. Jennifer Troup, Ambassador to Belgium, Bulgaria, Luxembourg, Moldova
	and Romania
Norway	H.E. Jørn Gloslie, Ambassador to Belgium
Norway	H.E. Anita Nergaard, Permanent Representative to NATO
Portugal	H.E. Jorge Cabral, Ambassador to Belgium
Portugal	H.E. Pedro Costa Pereira, Permanent Representative to the EU
Portugal	H.E. Manuela Teixeira Pinto, Deputy Permanent Representative to the EU
Portugal	H.E. Ana Paula Moreira, Permanent Representative to the Political and
	Security Committee
Slovenia	H.E. Barbara Sušnik Ambassador to Belgium, Luxembourg and Cape Verde
Switzerland	H.E. Jacques Pitteloud, Ambassador to Belgium and Head of Mission to NATO
United Kingdom	H.E. Anne Sherriff, UK Ambassador to Belgium
United Kingdom	H.E. Lindsay Croisdale-Appleby, Ambassador to the EU
United Kingdom	H.E. Angus Lapsley, Permanent Representative to NATO
Uruguay	H.E. Pablo Emilio Sader Hernandez, Ambassador to Belgium, Luxembourg and
	Head of Mission to the EU