Ministers since 1975

​Here are the different figures who have held the position of Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, since 1975 at de present time.​

  • José Manuel García-Margallo y Marfil

    1977-1982 and 1986-1994 Member of National Parliament
    1994-2011 Member of the European Parliament
    2011-2016 Spanish Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation

  • Trinidad Jiménez

    2003/06 Councillor in the Town Council of Madrid
    2006/09 State Secretary for Ibero-America
    2009/10 Minister of Health and Social Policy
    2010/11 Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation

  • Miguel Ángel Moratinos Cuyaubé

    1996/2003 EU Special Representative in the Middle East
    2004/2010 Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation

  • Ana Palacio Vallelersundi

    1994/2002 Eurodiputada
    2002/04 Ministra de Asuntos Exteriores
    2006/08 Vicepresidenta del Banco Mundial

  • Josep Piqué i Camps

    1996/98 Ministro de Industria y Energía
    1998/2000 Ministro de Industria y Energía y Portavoz del Gobierno
    2000/02 Ministro de Asuntos Exteriores
    2002/03 Ministro de Ciencia y Tecnología​

  • Abel Matutes Juan

    1970/71 Alcalde de Ibiza
    1977/82 Senador por Ibiza y Formentera en las Cortes Generales
    1982/85 Diputado nacional
    1985/94 Comisario europeo
    1994/1996 Eurodiputado en el Parlamento Europeo
    1996/2000 Ministro de Asuntos Exteriores​

  • Carlos Westendorp y Cabeza

    1995/96 Ministro de Asuntos Exteriores
    1996/97 Embajador de España ante las Naciones Unidas
    1997/1999 Alto Representante para Bosnia
    1999/2003 Eurodiputado socialista
    2004/2008 Embajador de España en Estados Unidos​

  • Javier Solana Madariaga

    1982/88 Ministro de Cultura. En 1985, Portavoz del Gobierno.
    1988/92 Ministro de Educación y Ciencia.
    1992/95 Ministro de Asuntos Exteriores
    1995/99 Secretario General de la OTAN
    1999/2009 Alto Representante de Política Exterior y Seguridad Común de la UE​

  • Francisco Fernández Ordóñez

    1974 Presidente del INI
    1977/79 Ministro de Hacienda
    1980/81 Ministro de Justicia
    1982/85 Presidente del Banco Exterior de España
    1985/92 Ministro de Asuntos Exteriores​

  • Fernando Morán López

    1978/79 Senador del PSOE por Oviedo
    1982 Diputado por Jaén
    1982/85 Ministro de Asuntos Exteriores
    1985/87 Embajador ante las Naciones Unidas
    1987/99 Eurodiputado​

  • José Pedro Pérez-Llorca

    1977 Diputado en el Congreso, ponente de la Constitución
    1979 Ministro de la Presidencia
    1980 Ministro de Administración Territorial
    1980/82 Ministro de Asuntos Exteriores
    1984/96 Presidente de la Asociación Atlántica Española

  • Marcelino Oreja Aguirre

    1976/80 Ministro de Asuntos Exteriores
    1980/82 Delegado del Gobierno en el País Vasco
    1984/89 Secretario General del Consejo de Europa
    1989/94 Eurodiputado
    1993/94 Diputado del PP por Álava
    1994/95 Comisario Europeo de Transportes y Energía
    1995/99 Comisario de Relaciones Institucionales, Cultura y Audiovisual​

  • José María de Areilza y Martínez-Rodas, Conde de Motrico

    1975/76 Ministro de Asuntos Exteriores
    1979 Diputado a Cortes por Coalición Democrática
    1981/83 Presidente de la Asamblea Parlamentaria del Consejo de Europa​


  • 25 Sep @SpainMFA * Spanish FM: "During my speech at the #NelsonMandela Peace Summit at the @UN I have recalled that Madiba is synonymo…
  • 25 Sep @SpainMFA * RT @UN_PGA: Such a pleasure to meet Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez. This year, we will work together to protect the rights of all peo…
  • 25 Sep @SpainMFA * RT @MEAIndia: EAM @SushmaSwaraj and Spanish Foreign Minister @JosepBorrellF met on the sidelines of UNGA and explored ways to intensify tie…
  • 24 Sep @SpainMFA * RT @SustDev: We put Goal 17 at the centre of our technological efforts, says @cristinagallach High Commissioner for #GlobalGoals for Spain.…
  • 24 Sep @SpainMFA * RT @JustinTrudeau: Busy day in Montreal with PM @sanchezcastejon, focused on how Canada & Spain can work together to fight climate change,…
  • 24 Sep @SpainMFA * RT @sanchezcastejon: Many thanks @JustinTrudeau for your invitation! We design ways for our countries to work more closely together to buil…
  • 24 Sep @SpainMFA * RT @UN: Global challenges require global solutions. @JosepBorrellF is at #UNGA this week.
  • 24 Sep @SpainMFA * 🇮🇷 Spain fervently condemns the terrorist attack perpetrated on Saturday in the city of #Ahvaz. The Spanish Governm…
  • 24 Sep @SpainMFA * 🇹🇿The Spanish Government is deeply saddened by the tragic capsizing of the “MV Nyerere” ferry in Lake Victoria, and…
  • 24 Sep @SpainMFA * RT @UN: 100+ world leaders will attend high-level #UNGA events all week starting on Monday - and now there are more ways than ever to follo…
  • 24 Sep @SpainMFA * RT @MisionGinebra: «Pending Tasks in Roma People Inclusion». Don't miss the #HRC39 side event tomorrow at 12:00 PM live on @MisionGinebra l…
  • 21 Sep @SpainMFA * RT @JosepBorrellF: Yesterday Professor Weiler and I discussed at @nyuniversity about the challenges facing the #EuropeanUnion. I believe f…
  • 21 Sep @SpainMFA * 🌍☮️Today is #PeaceDay2018 ➡️ #SDG number 16 “#Peace, #Justice and #StrongInstitutions” is a guideline for Spain's e…
  • 21 Sep @SpainMFA * #UNGA Spain's actions during the 73rd session of the United Nations General Assembly will revolve around three prio…
  • 21 Sep @SpainMFA * FM @JosepBorrellF will be a speaker at the "Latin America, the United States and Spain in the Global Economy" forum…


  • Inscríbete en el Registro de Viajeros
  • Recomendaciones de Viaje
  • Fichas por país
  • Instagram
  • Twitter SpainMFA
  • MAEUEC / Sede Palacio de Santa Cruz
    Plaza de la Provincia, 1
    28012 MADRID
    Tfno: 91 379 97 00
  • MAEUEC / Sede Palacio de Viana
    Duque de Rivas, 1
    28071 MADRID
    Tfno: 91 379 97 00
  • MAEUEC / Sede Torres Ágora
    Serrano Galvache, 26
    28033 MADRID
    Tfno: 91 379 97 00
    Avda. Reyes Católicos, 4
    28040 MADRID
    Tfno: 91 583 81 00 / 01
    Fax: 91 583 83 10 / 11
  • Dirección General de Españoles en el Exterior y de Asuntos Consulares y Migratorios
    C/ Pechuán, 1
    28002 MADRID
    Tfno: 91 379 17 00
Gobierno de España
©Ministerio de Asuntos Exteriores, Unión Europea y Cooperación
Portal gestionado por la Dirección General de Comunicación e Información Diplomática
Premio Ciudadanía 2016
Premio Ciudadanía 2016